Not such a success

3930562108_f07c8dec17

I was stumped on what to cook for dinner tonight. I had balked beans, and they needed eating up or they’d have to be thrown out (they’d been open a few days). I had no idea what I could prepare quickly for one that would actually go with baked beans. In the end I decided to use my culinary genious and make a white sauce to mix in with some okra and french beans. I’d never tried okra before, but my mum got some cheap frozen stuff for me the other day, and I had no idea what to do with it. I still don’t. I couldn’t really taste it through the sauce. Does any one have any suggestions? (It’s sliced, btw)

SN851442It came out looking quite nice, but the taste wasn’t quite there. Though there was definatly a good point to work on; I think if I tweak the recipe it’ll work really nicely!

I also tried adding some nutritional yeast into the baked beans to give ’em a unique flavour – that part of my meal did work, luckily. Nom nom nom. I had a couple of other things with the beans and sauce thing, and all in all it was very filling!

Ah the British staple!

Ah the British staple!

You know what they say about baked beans… Beans beans, good for the heart, the more you eat the more you fart!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Not such a success”

  1. lori Says:

    Okra, yum! We use okra in our Indian curry dishes over here in the states. It’s fantastic in curries. 🙂

  2. jenitreehugger Says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE okra but frozen stuff just doesn’t compare to fresh. It looks delicious anyhoo and the beans look amazng.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

