A little more about me

It seems to be a vegan mofo tradition to take part in these surveys, and it looks like a fun way to celebrate mofo and give you more of an insight into who I am, so here you go, vegan mofo entry #5.
.
1. Favorite non-dairy milk? I’ve only ever tried soya milk and oat milk, and oat milk is my favourite of the two, it’s creammy, yummy and makes great hot chocolate! Though it is more expensive than soya, so I drink Tesco’s unsweetened fresh soya milk 97% of the time.
.
2. What are the top 3 dishes/recipes you are planning to cook? 1) Some kind of pumpkin dish, maybe roast pumpkin, pumpkin soup, or pumpkin pie oatmeal…or all of them!
2) Chocolate brownies, I’ve never made these as a vegan and I love love love brownies.
3) Wholemeal herb drop biscuits
.
3. Topping of choice for popcorn? I like to keep things simple with just plenty of salt. Though I really want to try it with nutritional yeast.
.
4. Most disastrous recipe/meal failure? So far I’ve had no real disasters, but the time when some bread rolls I made came out as dense and heavy as you can imagine comes to mind.
.
5. Favorite pickled item? Gherkins.
.
6. How do you organize your recipes?Loose recipes? Sadly I don’t, really. I’ll print off a recipe and after I’ve made it the paper just gets shuffled from place to place and eventually someone gets fed up of it hanging around so it ends up in the recycling. I want to compile them in a binder or something.
.
7. Compost, trash, or garbage disposal? We have a mini compst bin on our counter top, where we put food waste. This goes into our brown bin, which is for compost waste (Including garden waste ect), which is collected by the council. The rest goes in either the garbage bin or recycling bin. Garbage disposal? Never had it, never will…unless I move to the States.
.
8. If you were stranded on an island and could only bring 3 foods…what would they be (don’t worry about how you’ll cook them)? Peanut butter, chocolate or carob bars, gooey chocolate cake.
.
9. Fondest food memory from your childhood? Staying at my grandparents house in the school holidays, or when they used to take me on short holidays somewhere.
.
10. Favorite vegan ice cream? I’ve only tried 2 types, Swedish glace vanilla and Booja Booja Chocolate. I love the Booja Booja one way more.
.
11. Most loved kitchen appliance? Microwave. I know some people hate them, but it is so useful for quick cooking with little washing up!
.
12. Spice/herb you would die without? Mixed spice, just the smell is enough to take me to easter and all those yummy hot cross buns. That said, It’s one of my lesser used herbs/spices.
.
13. Cookbook you have owned for the longest time? I only own one cookbook, and I can’t remember its name! something to do with oats and various things you can do with them. I get all my other recipe books from the libray.
.
14. Favorite flavor of jam/jelly? Blackcurrent, my grandparents neighbour used to give us jars of homemade stuff, it was awesome!
.
15. Favorite vegan recipe to serve to an omni friend? Anything baked, so far all the treats I’ve baked have come out perfect.
.
16. Seitan, tofu, or tempeh? Tofu – it’s so versatile!
.
.
17. Favorite meal to cook (or time of day to cook)? Dinner
.
18. What is sitting on top of your refrigerator? Some tomatoes.
.
19. Name 3 items in your freezer without looking. Lovely Jubbly lollies, Tesco’s nut cutlets, sprouts.
.
20. What’s on your grocery list? Soya milk, vegetables (what ever is on the cheap), apples, beans, chocolate.
.
21. Favorite grocery store? Poppy’s Pantry – It’s a local wholefoods store and without it I would have access to half the vegan
yummies I eat.
.
22. Name a recipe you’d love to veganize, but haven’t yet. My grandma’s creamy potato soup that kicks serious butt; basil ice cream; and haggis.
.
23. Food blog you read the most . Or maybe the top 3? Chocolate covered katie
.
24. Favorite vegan candy/chocolate? Dark chocolate covered ginger or Carob bars.
.
25. Most extravagant food item purchased lately? Nothing extravagant, to be honest.
.
26. Ingredients you are scared to work with? Spring roll wrappers because last time I tried I bulzed it up. Can’t think of anything else off the top of my head.
.
27. Favorite food cart? Never encountered one of those.
Tags: ,

2 Responses to “A little more about me”

  1. randomlymikey Says:

    that was fun! thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. veganf Says:

    Seriously, WHY would anyone attempt to veganize haggis! Ack!

Leave a Reply

