What’s better than Carrot cake?

Carrot cake oatmeal! Whenever I have work, I always ensure to make a hearty, special bowl of oats for breakfast. Just plain chocolate flavoured oatmeal is great, but they’re my school breakfast! I was struggling for idea, when I though of this – and it was so tasty! So this is my Vegan Mofo entry #3:

carrot cake oatsI’ve never put nuts in oatmeal before (le gasp!), but I loved how they add to the flavour and texture, I might just try it again in the near future. If you like carrot cake, and you like oats, try it! It’s quite simple, all you need is:

  • 1 small-medium carrot
  • 40g oats
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1 cup of soy milk (or other milk)
  • 4 pecan halves, roughly chopped
  • 2-3 pinches chopped walnuts
  • 2 teaspoons light brown sugar
  • 1/3 teaspoon cinnamon or mixed (pumpkin) spice
  • agave, to serve

In a pan, add the oats cinnamon and soymilk, then grate in the carrot (I did it so that the round end was on the grater, to get smaller grates). Bring to the boil on the hob, then turn to a low simmer. At this point, add the brown sugar. Stir in and keep stirring untill the sesired consostancy. When cooked, add in the vannilla and half the chopped nuts. Transfer to a bowl, then drizzle on agave and add the rest of the nuts on top.

Yum!

I’m glad I didn’t start work untill 10 this morning though, as I had a rough night last night! I drunk a little bit too much, but not so much that I was puking or anything like that. I had a good time though, so that’s all that matters! The party had a theme of hats, so i decided to wear my ‘neko’ hat.

SN851294You can see it better in this photo, but at this point I was wearing it in top of another hat:

SN851301

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “What’s better than Carrot cake?”

  1. What's better than Carrot cake? | carrotcake Says:

    […] Read the original here: What's better than Carrot cake? […]

  2. You know it’s autumn… « Teenaged Vegan Says:

    […] resulting oatmeal was so good! Even better than my carrot cake oatmeal, and just as nice as banana brulee oatmeal. I have enough puree left to have some brunch tomorrow […]

  3. veganf Says:

    Carrot cake oatmeal?! I never woulda thought of it. Brilliant!!!

Leave a Reply

