It’s nearly time!

I’ve had a pretty suckish day, and as a result I’ve felt pretty crap. Just 8 months, that’s all I can keep telling myself…8 months.

CheerUpCharlie

Vegan Mofo starts tomorrow! Anyone else joining in this year? I’m quite excited for it, I have a whole bunch of recipes marked out to try – hoping they’ll all be successful! Anyone got any ideas for ‘themes’ this year? I’ve been looking at the PPK for inspiration, but am always up for new ideas!

The last couple of days I’ve been eating some mushroom stew with herb dumplings from the book Vegan Cookbook: Over 90 Mouthwatering Recipes for All Occasions that I made in food tech on monday. The stew was yummy – I love me some mushrooms! However my dumplings were not dumplings at all! More like extremely dense under cooked flour balls. My fault on two counts though. 1) I changed the recipe, replacing oil with apple sauce. 2) I undercooked them! I cooked them for the time stated by the book, but it turns out that wasn’t enough. I have no idea when you tell when a dumpling is cooked too. It’s a shame because dumplings used to be one of my favourite foods (before I went on a health kick). Either way, I haven’t ruled out making this dish again, I just need to tweak the dumpling recipe some more or find a different one.

stew n dumplings

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “It’s nearly time!”

  1. americanvegan Says:

    Too bad about the dumplings. There are plenty of other recipes for them out there though! I love your blog- very fun to read! Keep it up!

  2. Bonnie Says:

    I’m really sorry you’re having a crappy day! I hope it passes soon…
    The stew looks wonderful. I recently had my first experience with dumplings and I have no idea what they’re supposed to look or taste like… I just know that I thought they were pretty yummy? and they were really fun to make. I’d love to experiment some more.

Leave a Reply

