A day of food

I’ve been a busy little bumble bee today. Delivering papers and spending the rest of my time in the kitchen, cooking up not one, but 3 times! I’m fed up of washing up, that’s for sure. I haven’t has a ‘proper’ meal for a while now, so decided to break that today. In the full spirit of autumn, I made a hearty cauliflower topped stew. I guess it’s akin to a cottage or sheperd’s pie, but it didn’t feel like a cottage pie to me. Instead of mashed potatoes, I used mashed cauliflower, and had split peas and various other veg in the middle. I added some nutritional yeast to the cauliflower topping, and it made it extra yummy. My only adaptation I would make for next time is grilling it after it’s been in the oven for 20 minutes or so, to get a lovely crispy topping.

SN851244SN851255Actually, I was very surprised that none of the liquid from the filling seeped over the top, as usually happens when I make similar dishes. i guess I did something better this time! After a short interval when I’d finished eating, I rushed downstairs remembering what I had been meaning to make. I’ll leave this thing for my next post though, as I don’t want to bore you with so much food in one post!

After a quick stint in the pub and a short walk by the river with my mum, I decided it was soup time. I’d prepared for this by going to to the co-op earlier and grapping the veg they were selling off. So I made a swede, cauliflower, celery, leek and onion soup, with some spinach blended in because well… Why not? I still have to say the best veggie soups have butternut squash in, but the only one they had today looked more like an orange courgette – it was rather pathetic.

SN851259That’s a lotta soup! I got 7 portions from todays batch. And, would you believe that this entire bowl is only 500 calories. Wow, I don’t think I’d even get through half of it before bursting. So to all you dieters out there – there you go, home made soup for the win!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

