Kale? No thanks!

I’ve come to the conclusion that I dislike kale. I will eat it, but it isn’t the most palatable of vegetables for me. I’ve tried it in salads, in stews, raw, and finally as crisps. Not keen on it at all. It was quite nice in the stew, though… It’s a shame because kale is one of those ‘super foods’, but I’ll stick with spinach, thanks.

Today to use up the last of the kale I decided to make some kale crisps/chips, since everyone else seems to be doing it.

SN851222I tried marinating them in a mix of red wine vingar, garlic powder and paprika and sprinkled them with salt before baking. They still tasted somewhat nasty. Actually, I burnt the second batch, they were smoking when I opened the oven door. Those ones tasted even worse. I give up with kale.

I found out I’m going to Alton Towers theme park on october 19th – I can’t wait! ‘Saw’ (The thriller/horror movie) ride here I come! We’re talking about a vertical drop here, it’ll be great!

My dinner was particually yum today, I made something like a stew with some soya/TVP chunks. I found out how to make them not-so-chewy, since last time I used these they were on the chewy side (but I liked that). The secret? Simmer them for longer! Once they’ve been rehydrated with boiling water, simmer them in whatever for at least 25 minutes.

SN851212

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Kale? No thanks!”

  1. randomlymikey Says:

    i have never tried kale, because some part of me just knows i wont like it, lol.

  2. Jes Says:

    Aw, I’m sad you aren’t a fan of kale. It’s one of my favorites. But everyone’s got their own taste! Maybe one day it’ll get on your good side 🙂 As for the stew, it looks fabulous!

  3. epicurvegan Says:

    Have you tried dinosaur kale (aka Tuscan, Lacinato, black cabbage)? It’s a lot more mild with a tender texture – and way easier to wash. Both my husband and mom dislike kale in general, but they’ll eat the dinosaur kale. They key is to cut/shred/tear any kale up into small pieces; it’s easier to digest that way. Also, check out the kale goma-ae recipe on my old blog (the link can be found on the current Epicurvegan blog). It turns almost any kale hater into a kale lover (the sesame sauce helps).

  4. leslie Says:

    Before you totally give up on kale, try this recipe. It is sooo good. You could always throw some in a smoothie too.

    http://drbenkim.com/recipes-kale.htm

  5. Missy Says:

    Make Colcannon! (I think that is how it is spelled) I cant quite recall where I got the recpie from, but search vegan kale colcannon, and give it a try. Its potatoey and delicious, and I dotn even notice the Kale in there (though my flatmate says that any kale in a meal makes it unpleasant enough.

    I also sneak it in places- like chopped into my big pots of chilli, and no one is any the wiser. Its just so good for you!

Leave a Reply

