Pretty Damn Pleased

Anyone living in the UK must know, GCSE results were released today. (how could you not know, it’s been plastered all over the news). I was undecided whether to go and collect them today or just wait untill I go back to school in a week. But curiousity got the better of me, and I went in and got them. Mainly because I knew it’s all people will be talking about on MSN and Facebook. Since I took these ones in year 10, it’s obviously not all my GCSE’s, just the ones we do early. So I got:

Science – 3 A*s (It’s broken into 3 sections)

Maths (module 1) an A

Statistics – an A

Made me feel good, especially in stats. Stats is so damn hard, and I only answred just over half the paper. Then again, to get an A I think you only need 50%. What bugs me though is the news reporting of it all. Everytime there are exams, for GCSE or A level, there is mass coverage of it. They get kids to open their results live on air (But only after the school has told the broadcastor who to choose, I bet), then go on to report about how the exams are getting more and more easy and the results improve each year. Bollocks, I say. The schools cannot win, if the kids are all getting Ds and Cs, they are said to be failing, but if everyone is getting Bs and As, the exams are said to be too easy. Also, it is rather boring when the main jist of the days news is all about the exams and their results.

I’m also very pleased with the stuffed aubergine (eggplant) I made today. I had two in the fridge, and one was getting a bit soft, so I just had to make something with it! It tasted soooo good! There’s also some Kimchi and sprouts on the plate.

SN851140I present to you today a recipe for: Millet stuffed aubergine.

You’ll need

  • one aubergine (A plump round one rather than a long flatter one works best)
  • 30g millet
  • one small-medium red onion
  • 3 chestnut or button mushrooms
  • 1 tablespoon worcester sauce
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • Garlic, to taste
  • stock cube (I used half a kallo low salt one, but as long as you end up with about 250ml stock, it doesn’t matter what you use)

Preheat the oven to 180 Degrees C (I think that’s 375 F???) Cut the top off the aubergine then cut lengthways, then scoop out the innards to leave aboout 1/3 of an inch thickness. Set the aubergines aside and chop up the innards, adding to a frying pan. Finely chop the onion, mushrooms and garlic and add to the pan, then fry it till done. While that’s cooking make up the stock and add that and the millet to the pan, bring to the boil, then let simmer gently with the lid on untill almost done. Take off the heat when it’s about 5 minutes away from being cooked and let sit untill the veg are done. When the vegetables are nearly cooked, add the worcester sauce and the vinegar and stir in, to allow them to absorb the flavours. At this point, also add a pinch of salt, some pepper, and spices to taste (I added paprika). When the vegetables are finished cooking, add to the millet pan and mix together well. Then put the aubergine skins on a baking tray, and add the filling. Cook at 180 C for about 25 minutes, then lower the temperature to about 145 C and cook for another 10-15 mintes.

Ta-Dah!

2 Responses to “Pretty Damn Pleased”

  1. randomlymikey Says:

    stuffed eggplant plus great scores. double win!!! i have to try this recipe šŸ™‚

  2. janeypoo Says:

    Well done on your results!

    I got A in French which I sat a year early
    A in maths module 3
    Then A*, A, B, B, B in sciences.. oops on the Bs but oh well.

Leave a Reply

