Tofuuuuu

Today’s been so nice! Really warm with a nice breeze. We went to Melton to feed the ducks and go for a walk (makes me feel like a kid again saying that!). Usually there aren’t any ducks, or if there are they aren’t hungry. But today there were over a dozen, and we didn’t have enough bread for them all 😦

Remember the last time I tried to marinate tofu? Well, after the last catastrophe I had, I was wary of trying again. However, today I tried and succeded and was able to enjoy a scrummy lunch.

SN851116Stir fry, with the tofu on top. I Used about 3/5 of a pack of stir fry veg from the Co-op (It had water chestnuts and bamboo shoots in – yum!), a handful of sprouted mung beans/lentils/other beans. I also threw in some shredded cabbage and sugar snap peas to add some bulk, as well as throwing in the left over marinade to use as a sauce.

For the marinade I used:

  • 3 tablespoons vegan worcester sauce
  • 1.5 table spoons red wine vinegar
  • 1.5 dessert spoons tomato puree
  • 1 dessert spoon barbeque sauce
  • Garlic powder
  • paprika
  • 2 tablespoons water to dilute
  • 2 teaspoons brown sugar

I let it marinate for a few hours, turning and mixing frequently, then baked it. I reserved the marinade to use later as a sauce.

My sister’s cat also left me a nasty surprise today. She must have known it was the day to change my bed, and wanted to make sure I didn’t get lazy and leave it ’till tomorrow. She threw up the liquid of her stomach onto my bed. There wasn’t really any solids there, it was all liquid, meaning it went right through my duvet cover and into my duvet. It’s not the first time she’s been sick on my bed, either. It’s disgusting. She’s sick very often though, my mum is clearing up after her forst thing almost every morning. Sometimes, I do winder why I am such a self proclaimed cat lover.

I also forgot to mention in my last post that my nan took me to see Orphan! It was more gory than I expected it to be, but it had a clever plot line and some great acting. There were a couple of moments when the gore was a little much, and I had to look away (but I’m not good with gore). It did kinda put me off horror films! I love the clever horror films which aren’t based on gore, which basically is what Orphan is, I’m just a wimpy person, so most people would probably be like, ‘what’s the deal?’ Still, it’s a great film, I reccomend it!

3 Responses to “Tofuuuuu”

  1. Katie Says:

    I’ve been wanting to see that movie for a while now. Thanks for the review over it! And your stir fry looks really fresh and yummy. I am a beginner with tofu marinating too. I’ve actually got a few packs of tofu in the refrigerator needing to be used. Maybe tomorrow I will make a stir fry. 🙂

  2. maya Says:

    i loved the movie orphan..i saw it 2 times 2 days in a row…haha..it was so good..liked the twist and the plat 😉 that tofu dish looks so yummy and easy! definatly going to keep it in mind. love the blog, just stumbled across it 🙂

    xo
    maya

  3. randomlymikey Says:

    that movie is def.on my to see list. looks pretty creepy. the tofu sounds delish, i’m glad it worked out this time.i shall have to try it.

Leave a Reply

