Feeling Fed Up

I now am officially fed up with the holidays. I’ve been saying for a while that I’m bored ect, but today I realised I really have had enough. At least I have something to look forward too tomorrow…My brother is going to a 2 night camp in Thetford, so hopefully that’ll be a nice break from him. On thursday we’re making the most of it and are going to Great Yarmouth for the day. Great Yarmouth is one of my favourite summer places to go, there’s a pleasure beach (lots of rides), the actual beach, the sea side town (some good, unique shops), great chips from the chippie, a really sweet model village ect ect. And to think people used to make fun of me because we used to go there on holiday instead of jetting off abroad…

I had a craving for spaghetti bolognaise today, I haven’t had a proper one for absolutly ages. I’ve often had the tomato part, but only as a ratatouille or something similar. I decided to experiment a little too, using a blender and adding red wine vinegar and worcester sauce.

SN851028It doesn’t look like much, bet rest assured, it was the most tasty thing I’ve had in ages! Today I present you with a recipe for ‘Better than Bolognaise’

  • 1/3 tin of tomatoes (chopped or plum, doesn’t matter for this recipe)
  • 1/2 a small-medium onion
  • 1/2 clove garlic
  • 2-3 mushrooms
  • 50g dry wholemeal spaghetti
  • 1 table spoon red wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon vegan worcester sauce
  • 1 dessert spoon tomato puree
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried herbs
  • Pinch of chilli flakes (doesn’t make a spicey dish – Promise!)
  • 30g TVP (I personally think this may have been better without this ingredient, but it makes for a more wholesome dish)

Chop the onion and garlic and fry. Add to a blender (I use the personal sized cup on the magic bullet), along with the tinned tomatoes, mushrooms, herbs and puree. Pour back into sauce pan and simmer.  Add the vinegar and worcester sauce. Make up the TVP by pack instructions, then add to sauce. Cook the spaghetti in a seperate pan, and when cooked to your liking (I like mine al dente), drain and mix into the sauce.

Top with vegan cheese, if you wish 😀

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Feeling Fed Up”

  1. randomlymikey Says:

    that does look super good. ty for the recipe. i’ll have to try it.

  2. Jane Says:

    Looks yummy 😀

Leave a Reply

