We’ve only had the new (second hand) car barely 5 minutes and already the air con is leaking, so we spent part of the morning at the garage / dealer, only to be told to come back tomorrow. So we decided while we were there, we might as well go to town. I’m getting quite fed up of Ipswich, there’s not much there, even though there is a lot there, if that makes sense. I had a really nice sandwich from boots for lunch, it had a weird name, ‘Bugsy’ or something. It had hummus, alfafa sprouts, spinach, carot and maybe some other stuff in, the hummus was so creamy I did actually double check it was vegan.

I also spent the afternoon baking, rolls, crackers and a pizza base for my dinner (same pizza as I ate the other day – yum!). I’ve got an evening habit of eating crackers while on the laptop, and so have been toying with the idea of making my own for a little while. Using knowledge conjured up from the web, plus my own imagination, I managed to come up with a recipe which seems to have worked very well.

SN851017They’re chilli and herb flavoured. I’m going to experiment with different herbs and spices and flavours next time, these were great, but there is always room to improve! I only made a small batch of a dozen, in case they didn’t come out well, and also because I can only eat crackers so fast before they go stale. They were a little softer than a cracker, more like a cornish wafer in texture. I guess for a crisper cracker add less fat? Anyway, if anyone’s interested, the recipe:

  • 20g vegan spread (I used sunflower spread)
  • 70g wholemeal flour
  • Water
  • 3/4 teaspoon chilli flakes (these were very hot though, so if you don’t like it too hot then better to use less)
  • 1 teaspoon dried herbs

Rub the spread into the flour, or stick in a blender and let that do the hard work. Then mix in the herbs and chilli flakes, followed by the water. Add the water a little bit at a time, untill the right consistancy is formed. Roll out very very very flat, cut into shapes and place on grease proof paper (on a baking tray) cook in a preheated 180 degree C oven for about 10-15 minutes, or untill done. I watch mine for the last 7 or 8 minutes, just to make sure they didn’t burn.

The result, yummy crackers which taste really great 😀

One Response to “”

  1. randomlymikey Says:

    i love making my own crackers 🙂

Leave a Reply

