Blue Sheese

The beach sure was windy today! We decided to drive up to Sizewell and take a walk along the beach today. It was a little warm, but the wind was roaring in my ears somewhat. Although there is nothing at Sizewell apart from the beach and a small cafe (at least for us), I do like like going because I like to see the Nuclear power plant. It just alures me, and you can get quite close to it before you come to the fence. It’s something so potentually dangerous but is seen as the future of England, there’s so much debate about nuclear. I kinda just sit on the fence. It’s also such an immense site, it’s so big and the noises you hear from it make it interetsing too. Maybe I’m just weird.

Remember a while ago, I mentioned that I got some Blue Sheese? Well, I’m finally going to tell you my experience with it.

406720b

Upon opening the packet the first thing I was interested in was the smell. Blue cheese was always smelly, and I was met by the same, famillier smell that I remember. Even my mother aggreed that it smelt realistic. It comes in a round block and is very firm, so is suitable for grating and such, unlike dairy blue cheese. It was actually a little difficult to cut, it was so firm!

blue sheeseIt didn’t look like blue cheese at all, but then, I shouldn’t really have expected it too, it is only ‘Blue Style Sheese’. As for taste, well, on its own, it tastes a bit dull, but it is creamy and the blue cheese flavour is definatly there. The first thing I decided to do with it was grate some into a sweet potato and mash it in a little. It was so yummy! made a change from boring old plain oven baked sweet potato.

SN850998 My next endeaver with the Blue Sheese was a pizza, which came out so perfect! I thought by putting the sheese on for only the last 5 minutes of cooking would be good, but even that proved too much, and the sheese dried out a bit too much – no taste impairment though. I’m going to make the pizza again tomorrow, it was so good! I was in heaven for a little while there.

The sheese also rescued my mushroom soup. Originally my soup tasted like it was lacking something, and I thought maybe it needed some soya cream or something to pick it up. But, Blue sheese did the trick! Taking inspiration from Bute Island’s recipe page (these are the guys who make Sheese), I decided I’d try putting some in a portion of my soup. I put a serving of the soup, and grated about 30g of the Sheese into the magic bullet and whizzed it toget, then poured it into a mug and heated. It came out so great! It tasted rich and creamy, like I wanted! Although I think next time I will only add 20g, as it was a little too rich. But that’s my answer to all things soup, add some sheese to it. I’m thinking the chaddar style will be more suitable for most soups, but I’ve never tried that one so can’t vouch for it.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Blue Sheese”

  1. Pizza! « Says:

    […] « Blue Sheese […]

  2. Bonnie Says:

    Ooh, that’s pretty awesome! I’d love to try Sheese, but I haven’t seen it over here yet.

Leave a Reply

