The Early Bird Catches the Worm. Not.

Today has been one heck of a long day. I had to get up extra early, because we were going into town while the car was being MOTed, but because the car was booked in early, it meant leaving the house at 7:40! Erlack, I hate getting up before 8:00. It meant an extra early breakfast, and an extra long gap between breakfast and lunch. And I get very, very hungry if I have to wait too long for my meals! And now, to me it feels like a saturday, because we also went to my grandparent’s to visit, and we normally do that on a saturday. My whole body clock is messed up now D:

We got a free pedometer in the post today too, with the government’s ‘Change4Life’ pack. It’s a crap little thing, but hey, it’s free. It can go in the drawer with all the other pedometers we’ve accumulated. (All with good intentions, but the intentions never last long)

For a while, I’ve been looking for a little change up from peanut butter. And my trip to Poppy’s Pantry a few days ago provided that chance. But there was such choice! Cashew, brazil, hazelnut, almond, sunflower and pumpkin. The nut butters were pricey, £2.30 for 170g, but the seed butters were a bit better, £1.99 gor 170g. So I decided to go for pumpkin seed butter.

punpkin seed spread.I was super duper excited to try it, as I am with most new foods, and I fell in love. At first, the taste startled me. Not because it was weird, or unappetising in any way at all. It was simply because I was used to peanut butter on my ryvita, and to get a pumpkin seed taste was kind of unexpected (even though I knew what I was eating *eyeroll*). If you like pumpkin seeds, you’ll love this. I have to say, it may not look like the most yum thing in the world, but give it a chance!

yumI’m still a peanut butter fiend though. Nothing will ever replace it for me, ever. I still find myself with the spoon in limbo between the jar and my mouth in the evenings.

Not all things peanut butter work though. I had what I thought would be a great idea the other nut: Peanut butter hot chocolate. Sounds delish to me. It didn’t work. I added a fair bit of peanut butter to the hot chocolate, yet the peanut butter could not be tasted at all. 😦 Then again, I didn’t add sugar to the drink, maybe that’s what it needed…I just used plain soy milk and cocoa powder. Hmms.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “The Early Bird Catches the Worm. Not.”

  1. Jane Says:

    I actually don’t like peanut butter! I don’t know what it is.. it’s just so.. strange.

  2. QuirkyVegan Says:

    Ooh I loooove peanut butter. I like the Whole Earth variety best.

    • teenagedvegan Says:

      Tesco’s generic peanut butter is all I get, my mother won’t pay more fo other brands (Even though some of them do seem a lot nicer!)

Leave a Reply

