Mousse, Meese?

What would be the plural of mousse, because mousses just doesn’t sound right. This is another mousse post (remember chocolate mousse?). This time it’s for a banana mousse. Equally delicious, but in a different way. On to that later, though.

It’s day one of the summer holidays, and as I expected, I am bored already, 6 more weeks!? Surely not. I can only fulfill so many hours of the day. Though, other people don’t have this trouble, maybe it’s just me… I have a book, 101 things to do before you’re 16, I keep meaning to flick through it and do some things. (One of them was become vegetarian for a month – I think I have surpassed that :D). We went into Woodbridge today, there isn’t much in the way of shops, and it was windy and slightly chilly today. I am still waiting for that ‘long hot summer’ we are supoosed to be having. Hmph. But in the summer, Woodbridge is quite nice, the river makes for a nice walk, and if you’re up for it there’s tennis, swimming, and other stuff.

Todays recipe feature: Mouse! Same kinda thing as the chocolate one, just a different flavour. I made it for two today, too. My sister decided to join in, and I don’t think she regretted it! If anyone knows what ‘Angel Delight’ is, this mousse (and the chocolate one) is a very similar dish, but vegan!

banana mousseTo make a Banana mousse for two, you need:

  • 1/2 to 2/3 a block of tofu
  • soy milk (amount needed varies)
  • 1 banana
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1/2 teaspoon Almond essence
  • 4 or more teaspoons sugar (depends how much you like)

Chuck everything in a blender (I used the magic bullet, since you can use a single person sized cup to blend in), starting of with 1/4 cup soy milk. Blend untill smooth. At the beginning, I had to stop every 10 seconds or so and give it a shake to get the blades going again. You may also have to use a spoon to remove unblended stuff from the sides. Keep adding soymilk, a little bit at a time, untill at the consistancy you like. (I used about 2/5 cup soymilk in the end). Place in a dish and refridgerate for about 1-2 hours. It doesn’t need refridgerating, it just makes it a little thicker.

I decorated mine with grated chocolate, and chocolate chips. Yum!

Tags: ,

One Response to “Mousse, Meese?”

  1. Vegan Mofu has officially begun! « Says:

    […] to kick off Vegan Mofo, I’ve made a decadent dessert. Now, I’ve made a yummy tofu mousse before, however recently I’ve fallen in love with avocados. They’ve sooooo […]

Leave a Reply

