If I Could Measure Yummy-ness In Miles…

The weird title is brought to you by my School’s sport’s day. It was supposed to be tuesday, but rain called it off. I never partake in any main events, after all, that would just be the best way to get my house to lose. Especially the track events, which are in front of the rest of the school in the afternoon. It’s embarrassing enough to come last, let alone in front of 1000 other people. However, I always do the open mile, as there are no prizes (Unless you enter in the competing lanes – not many people do!). I always come up to the track thinking, ‘gosh, this is larger than I remember…’ But I digress…

I ran it, and didn’t walk once πŸ˜€ I know for many, 1 mile is nothing, but I ain’t a runner, so for me it’s good, even if I was one of the last to finish.

The other half of my title comes from these amazing little things.

Cheese cake Bites

Cheese cake Bites

A while ago, my friend said, ‘Vegan cakes can’t possibly be as nice as ordinary cakes, they have no eggs in!’. I took that as a dare. I decided I would prove her wrong. And I did, I proved her very wrong πŸ˜€ I was originaly going to make something like carrot cake, or brownies, but a few of my friends like neither. Turns out one of my friends doesn’t like cheesecake either, I’d forgotton though 😦

I used the recipe found at Novel Eats. This was my first experience with Tofutti cream cheese, and I was impressed. I tried some of the cream cheese before I added it to the recipe, and was surprised by how similar to ordinary cream cheese it is. It was tasty! The batter for the cheese cake balls were tasty too, I had great fun licking out the Bullet cup.

I was very surprised these turned out. Not because I doubted the recipe, but if I become too adventurous in the kitchen, I fail. I expected the mixture to be too runny when cooked, or to not roll at all, or to roll, but flatten into disks as soon as I placed the balls on the tray. None of that though. Everything went very smoothly. Like suggested, I put them in the freezer after I had coated them, rather than refridgerating. I don’t know if that was a good idea or not. It made the chocolate crack a little, but then again, I don’t know if that might have happened in the fridge. But if you do put them in the freezer, you’ll want to get them out about 5-7 minutes before they are to be eaten, otherwise they are too hard.

My friends were all amazed at these. They said how yummy they were, and there were 2 spare, and they went as soon as they were offered. The biggest success though, was my friend, ‘You’re right, Kay, Vegan treats are as nice as normal ones.’

SN850892

Would I make these again? Most definatly. They were so yummy. I’ve never had vegan cheese cake or anything similar before, these were my first experience. Although, like the writer of Novel eats, I would add something extra to the batter to enhance the flavour. I was thinking of adding custard powder next time instead of cornflour…Hmmm…

Last day of school tomorrow before summer – woo!

Tags:

3 Responses to “If I Could Measure Yummy-ness In Miles…”

  1. Lori Says:

    Found you through veggieboards. πŸ™‚ Oh…this looks totally delicious. I am going to try it once I get my hands on the ingredients.

  2. Happy Birthday Holly! « Says:

    […] made sugar cookies in the past, which were okay, but not too special. Holly did request the ‘cheese’ cake balls I made for the sake of it once, but I didn’t have the ingredients on hand nor could I go and […]

Leave a Reply

