One Of Many Mistakes

As a vegan – and especially a moderatly new one – it is inevitable that I will make some very basic mistakes. But, we learn from experience, and as my experience grows, so does my abilty to avoid mistakes.

Today, I topped the dessert I made (which is below) with Butterscotch Sugar. I realised as soon as I made the first turn of the grinder. Cursing, I immediatly pulled away the grinder and put it back. How could I have been so silly? It’s in the stupid name! Butterscotch. Duh. Bad moment. However, although the dessert didn’t turn out vegan, it was intended to be and it would have been if not for my little mistake.(if it’s any consolation there really wasn’t that much put on). It was really yummy and a really nice treat to end my meal with.

SN850882 Chocolate Mousse!

If you would like to enjoy the vegan version of this, you will need for one decent portion:

  • 115 – 175g tofu (1/3 to 1/2 of a package). I used Blue Dragon Extra Firm, but any kind of tofu will work. The extra firm was all I had.
  • 1 to1 1/2 dessert spoons plain cocoa powder (or more to taste)
  • 2 dessert spoons sugar (Or 1 1/2. depending how sweet your sweet tooth likes it)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract (This and the vanilla are optional)
  • Soymilk or any other milk (no pacific amount, all depends on he consistancy you like)

Chuck everything in a blender (I used the magic bullet, since you can use a single person sized cup to blend in), starting of with 1/4 cup soy milk. Blend untill smooth. At the beginning, I had to stop every 10 seconds or so and give it a shake to get the blades going again. You may also have to use a spoon to remove unblended cocoa powder from the sides. Keep adding soymilk, a little bit at a time, untill at the consistancy you like. (I used about 1/3 cup soymilk in the end). Place in a dish and refridgerate for about 1-2 hours. It doesn’t need refridgerating, it just makes it a little thicker.

Decorate how you wish, or enjoy plain 😀

I think next time I make this, I will leave out the vanilla and almond extracts and add a tablespoon peanut butter instead!

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “One Of Many Mistakes”

  1. randomlymikey Says:

    that looks really good! i haven’t had much luck with tofu desserts- but i will give this a try 🙂

  2. Vegan Mofu has officially begun! « Says:

    […] to kick off Vegan Mofo, I’ve made a decadent dessert. Now, I’ve made a yummy tofu mousse before, however recently I’ve fallen in love with avocados. They’ve sooooo tasty! In […]

Leave a Reply

