Could it be…two great things combined?

You all know how much I love peanut butter – it’s the best! I also love bananas, I’m surprised they don’t find their way into my stomach all too often (save for bana brulee oatmeal!). However, what about…Banana-Peanut butter?! This is something inspired by Chocolate Covered Katie, so far all her recipes have been yum and this is no exception!

Don’t exclaim, ‘eugh!’ just yet though. If you like bananas, and peanut butter, this is something to get your teeth into!  If you’ve ever enjoyed a scrummy peanut butter and banana sandwich, this really is for you! Imagine having a spread which saves you the messyness of slicing up a banana, and if there’s any left, wondering what to do with the rest of it.

peanut butter banana spreadThis was hard work to make though. Although in theory it’s very simple – just throw everything into the blender – in practice it just ain’t so. For starters, my magic bullet simply couldn’t handle it, the mixtire was too thick. I had to keep adding soy milk every so often to get the blades to spin it. It’s hella hard to clean up afterwards too, even if you are a fan of licking out the blender!

I added some cinnamon to the spread too, though next time I will add some vanilla me thinks. One thing I hate about bananas though is their ‘I’m so cool I’m going to oxidise’ attitude. Even though I keep the spread in an airtight container in the fridge, The banana causes a darkening of the ‘exposed’ parts of the spread (Mainly the top, and air gaps at the bottom). It tastes fine though, I simply stir it up before I eat some. It tastes great as it is, I eat it right of the spoon, but I bet it’d be great on toast, or on pancakes, or anything else you like. It seems to thicken up in the fridge, so next time I’ll make it with more soya milk. In he end I used about 100g peanut butter, 1 banana and 70-100ml soya milk and cinnamon. Try it!

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Could it be…two great things combined?”

  1. Chocolate-Covered Katie Says:

    Aww you’re so sweet :). Featuring you soon!!

    Oh, and I actually like when the banana caramelizes and goes to the top. Does that make me weird lol?

    You’re a sweetheart!!

  2. Bonnie Says:

    Looks delicious! I love the combination of hazelnut butter and banana on sandwiches, so I bet hazelnut butter would be great in this spread as well…

    Your cat sounds adorable too, by the way ^^

  3. twoveganboys Says:

    Bananas and peanut butter are a combination of heavenly goodness.
    Thanks for the kind words on my blog. Today’s post was a bit jumbled thanks to my battle with WordPress. WordPress won!

    I will be reading your blog. I am glad you found mine.

    peas and love….

  4. Veronica Says:

    We are of like minds in the peanut butter department. I could easily fend my way through the most meat-centric rural town in the U.S. of A with a spoon and a family-size jar!

    The peanut butter-banana spread sounds fantastic. However, I have the same issue with my Magic Bullet. I love it to death, but sometimes it just doesn’t do its job as well as one would hope.

  5. Vegan Mofu has officially begun! « Teenaged Vegan Says:

    [...] I blended the other just under 2/3s of a block of tofu, a bit of soya milk and a big fat teaspoon of banana-peanut-butter (Though I think it would work just as well with 1/2 a banana or a spoon of nut butter). I [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

