Pancakes, They Ain’t Just For Shrove Tuesday

Who here doesn’t like pancakes? The only way I used to know pancakes, was as scotch pancakes that were bought from the shop, and once a year on Shrove Tuesday, as the large thin pancakes that were home made. The ones that we eat on Shrove Tueday are soooo yummy. And they’re great covered in lemon juice and sugar, or golden syrup, or chocolate sauce, the list is endless.

Anyway, being an adventurous person, I decided to take up Katie’s Pancake Making Bonzana.

I decided to base my pancakes on a strawberry gooey dessert that my mother used to make years and years ago.

Mmmm, Pancakes

Mmmm, Pancakes

Just so you know, they’re not covered in ketchup, it’s a strawberry sauce I made for them. (Just blended strawberries and a heaping dessert spoon of Golden Syrup).

They were a really cool pink colour, thanks to adding blended strawberries to the batter, and they came out all lovely and gooey in the middle. I’ve never had a pancake like this before, and I think I may have under cooked them slightly (or maybe they were meant to be this way – they didn’t taste raw anyway). But that’s okay, because the gooey-ness made them great.

I added sugar to the batter, but as my mother pointed out, this may have been a mistake, as sugar likes to burn, my pancakes weren’t burnt, but they put up one heck of a fight to be flipped.

It was also my first time making vegan pancakes, but I was impressed. They made a great sunday morning treat, and my sister got up especially to try some (she usually sleeps in ’till about 10:30) I used Orgran No Egg and soy milk in place of traditional ingredients. I’m definatly going to make these again, I’m thinking banana and peanut butter flavour…

If you wanna make these too, it’s simple! For one person, you need:

  • 35g flour (I use half self raising and half wholemeal)
  • half a teaspoon egg replacer (I use Orgran)
  • 150ml ‘milk’ (if the mixture seems too thick, add a bit more, if it seems too runny, add a little more flour)
  • 3 teaspoons sugar
  • about 80g strawberries for the sauce
  • 1 dessertspoon golden syrup for the sauce

Place all the pancake ingredients in a blender and blend till everythings all…blended. Then cook as you would normal pancakes.

For the sauce, place the strawberries and syrup in the (rinsed out) blender and blend till smooth.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Pancakes, They Ain’t Just For Shrove Tuesday”

  1. Chocolate-Covered Katie Says:

    Woo hoo! I love how they’re pink!! You’ll definitely be featured in the next pancake post :)

  2. Damjana Says:

    That’s a cute pancake creation!

  3. randomlymikey Says:

    huuuugggeee pancake fan over here! i def. want to try your version soon :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

